Browse Items (3 total)

Four students from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical state University started the movement. Their names were David Richmond, Franklin McCain, Ezell Blair Jr., and Joseph McNeil. The movement quickly spread to Nashville and Durham.

Screen Shot 2014-12-11 at 10.43.14 PM.png
James Lawson was a divinity student at Vanderbilt in 1960, and was a leader in the non violent sit in movement in Nashville. President Harvie Bransomb expelled Lawson from Vanderbilt for his participation in the movement. Lawson was a disciple of…
Output Formats

atom, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-xml, rss2